Skip to main content

An evening of experimental network music.

Renaud, A., 2011. An evening of experimental network music. [Show/Exhibition]

Full text available as:




4 cutting edge pieces will be presented, all using network technology as the core for producing sounds and sights. The Loop by Jackson4 (Tom Davis, Jason Geistweidt, Alain Renaud) The Loop explores the possibilities of co-located performance, decentralised composition, and the acoustics of network. This performance begins with a brief improvisation presenting acoustic sources to excite the network. This material is shared, transformed, and reintroduced into the composition. This process continues through successive generations until a predetermined time or a point at which the composition naturally concludes. The result is an integrated meta-instrument and an emergent composition, with no one artist being the sole performer or composer. Leech (Curtis McKinney) Leech is a multi-media composition that explores the moral and physical dimensions of music piracy. Leech includes components of sonification and music composition, using the actual mechanisms that enable BitTorrent downloads as mined data for real-time algorithmic sound production. Network data is mapped in musically and visually meaningful ways to produce an experience that embodies the look and sound of piracy. Furthermore, the actual music being pirated is itself used as a resource for audio processing and music composition. Performed in real-time, the composition provides multi-factorial insight into the world of music piracy. The Number Game by NetVs.Net (Juan-Pablo C

Item Type:Show/Exhibition
Event Title:Co-Located
Event Location:Bournemouth University, Poole England
Event Dates:14 May 2011
Group:Faculty of Science & Technology
ID Code:18541
Deposited By: Dr Alain Renaud LEFT
Deposited On:21 Sep 2011 08:53
Last Modified:14 Mar 2022 13:40


Downloads per month over past year

More statistics for this item...
Repository Staff Only -